Our Committees

OASPA’s committees and working groups support and advise the OASPA Board of Directors in key areas.

Executive Committee

OASPA’s Executive Committee consists of the three Board Members who hold officer positions (Chair/President, Secretary and Treasurer). The OASPA Articles of Association grant the Executive Committee the authority to represent the association.

Function of the Executive Committee:

  • To meet with the Executive Director and discuss issues related to the management of the Foundation
  • To identify issues requiring further discussion with the full OASPA board
  • To move forward on decisions made by the Board in between meetings

Executive Committee members:

  • Dominic Mitchell (DOAJ) Chair
  • Catherine Mitchell (California Digital Library) Secretary
  • Bekah Darksmith (Public Library of Science, PLOS) Treasurer
Since October 2020, official duties relating to Stichting OASPA in the Netherlands, such as communication with the Dutch Chamber of Commerce and financial registration, are managed on behalf of OASPA by Vincent W.J. van Gerven Oei as a Dutch national and OASPA Board member.
Membership Committee
OASPA’s Membership Committee supports and advises the OASPA Board of Directors on decisions regarding the membership of OASPA.
  • Dominic Mitchell (DOAJ)
  • Vincent W.J. van Gerven Oei (punctum books)
  • Juan Pablo Alperin (Public Knowledge Project, PKP)
  • Claire Redhead (OASPA)
  • Lucy Barnes (OpenBook Publishers)
  • Sara Bosshart (Royal Society of Chemistry)
  • Andrea Chiarelli (Research Consulting)
  • Kazuhiro Hayashi, National Institute of Science and Technology Policy (NISTEP)
  • Haseeb Md Irfanullah (Independent Consultant, Bangladesh)
  • Alex Mendonça (SciELO)
  • Catherine Mitchell (California Digital Library)
  • Tshiamo Motshegwa (African Open Science Platform (AOSP), NRF)
  • Lucy Oates (Oxford University Press)
  • Jadranka Stojanovski (University of Zadar and Ruđer Bošković Institute)
  • Elaine Tham (PLOS)
  • Bernie Folan (OASPA) Chair
  • Iryna Kuchma (EIFL)
  • Rachael Lammey (Crossref)
  • Catriona MacCallum (Hindawi)
  • Dan Morgan (PLOS)
  • Jeff Pooley (mediastudies.press)
  • Claire Redhead (OASPA)
  • Jeroen Sondervan (University of Utrecht)
  • Demmy Verbeke (KU Leuven)

OASPA’s Communications and Outreach Committee supports the OASPA Communications, Engagement and Outreach Manager on OASPA’s communications and outreach efforts.

  • Bernie Folan (OASPA) Chair
  • Katie Baker (Springer Nature)
  • Lori Carlin (Delta Think)
  • Sarah Cooper (Microbiology Society)
  • George Currie (Hindawi)
  • John Fudrow (University of Pittsburgh Library System)
  • Iva Kostadinova (Pensoft Publishers)
  • Stephanie Paalvast (Brill)
  • Chantelle Rijs (Frontiers)
  • Katie Sayers (PLOS)
  • Anna Wetterberg (RTI Press)
  • Charlotte Van Rooyen and Maria Campbell (EDP Sciences)
  • Thijs van Vlijmen (Elsevier)

Equity in Open Access Working Group

  • Juan Pablo Alperin (Public Knowledge Project, PKP)
  • Curtis Brundy (Iowa State University)
  • Matthew Day (Cambridge University Press)
  • Catriona MacCallum (Hindawi)
  • Catherine Mitchell (California Digital Library)
  • Claire Redhead (OASPA)
  • Daniel Shanahan (PLOS)
  • Emma Wilson (Royal Society of Chemistry)
  • Vincent W.J. van Gerven Oei (punctum books)

Become a Member

  • Learn about new open scholarship developments
  • Strengthen your organisation
  • Contribute to OASPA’s direction
  • Advocate for open scholarship