OASPA 2023 Conference Program

OASPA 2023 Conference on Open Scholarship

19 – 21 September 2023

All times listed are UK BST (British Summer Time) / UTC +1

Time Zone Convertor from UK time
You can use this to change the UK time to your panel time to check your time zone


Speaker Biographies     |     Panel Session Abstracts 


Tuesday 19 September

1.45 – 2 pm

Welcome and Conference Opening

  • Claire Redhead, Executive Director, OASPA


2 – 3.15 pm

Opening panel discussion and Q&A
A Progress Check on Scholarly Publishing

  • Moumita Koley, DST Centre for Policy Research – IISc, India
  • Peter Suber, Harvard Library and Harvard Open Access Project, Harvard University, USA
  • Thanos Giannakopoulos, United Nations, USA
  • Sarah Greaves, Sarah Greaves STEM Consulting Ltd, UK

Moderated by Jennifer Gibson, Dryad and OASPA Chair


3.30 – 4.45 pm 

Panel | Overcoming obstacles in policy development  

  • Jean-Claude Burgelman, Free University of Brussels (VUB) and Frontiers Policy Lab, Belgium
  • Joy Owango, Training Centre in Communication, University of Nairobi, Kenya  (SLIDES)
  • Ana Persic, UNESCO, Paris
  • Shinichi Akaike, Secretariat of Science, Technology and Innovation Policy
    Cabinet Office, Japan
  • Nurzatil Sharleeza Mat Jalaluddin, Malaysia Open Science Alliance, Malaysia   (SLIDES)

Moderated by Tshiamo Motshegwa, African Open Science Platform (AOSP), NRF, Botswana


5 – 6.00 pm

Poster Lightning Talks Session 1

Moderated by Jennifer Gibson, Dryad and OASPA Chair


Wednesday 20 September

11 – 12.15 pm

Panel | A steady takeover: Exploring the impact of AI on academic publishing

  • Danny Kingsley, OAPEN Foundation and Charles Sturt University, Australia SLIDES
  • Katherine Malan, University of South Africa and South African Computer Journal, South Africa
  • Avi Staiman, Academic Language Experts, Israel
  • Joris van Rossum, STM Solutions, The Netherlands

Moderated by Andrea Chiarelli, Research Consulting, UK and Alex Mendonça, SciELO, Brazil


12.30 – 1.45 pm

Panel | Preprints: Supporting Open Peer Review and Global Preprint Adoption Trends

  • Johanna Havemann, Access 2 Perspectives, Germany
  • Alex Mendonça, SciELO, Brazil
  • Aurelia Munene, Eider Africa, Kenya
  • Jessica Polka, ASAPbio, USA
  • Zhang Zhixiong, ChinaXiv, China

Moderated by Matthew Salter, Akabana Consulting, USA


2 – 3 pm

Poster Lightning Talks Session 2   

Moderated by Jennifer Gibson, Dryad and OASPA Chair


3.15 – 4.15 pm

Panel | Going Beyond OA: Sustainability – Justice – Resilience

  • Jessica Blythe, Brock University, Canada
  • Saleemul Huq, International Centre for Climate Change and Development (ICCCAD), Bangladesh
  • Zoe Robinson, Institute for Sustainable Futures, Keele University, UK

Chair:  Haseeb Md. Irfanullah, Independent Consultant; University of Liberal Arts Bangladesh (ULAB)


4.30 – 5.45 pm 

Panel | Equity and sustainability in Diamond OA publishing

  • Rod Cookson, IWA Publishing, UK
  • Caroline Edwards, Open Library of the Humanities, UK 
  • Judith Fathallah, Open Book Collective and Lancaster University, UK
  • Sharla Lair, Lyrasis, USA
  • Amanda Ramalho, SciELO, Brazil

Moderated by Lucy Barnes, Open Book Publishers, UK


Thursday 21 September

12 – 1 pm

Poster Lightning Talks Session 3   

Moderated by Jennifer Gibson, Executive Director, Dryad and OASPA Chair


1.15 – 2.30 pm

Panel  | Mission-driven publishers’ transition models examined (SLIDES)

  • Wyatt Reynolds, ACM, USA
  • Caroline Edwards, Open Library of the Humanities, UK 
  • Nathaniel Gore, PeerJ, USA  (SLIDES)
  • Charlotte Van Rooyen, EDP Sciences, France

Chair: Chris Pym, American Chemical Society, UK  


2.45 – 4 pm

Panel  | Transforming research integrity: the growing potential of open science practices

  • Clarissa F. D. Carneiro, BIH QUEST Center for Responsible Research, Germany
  • Roohi Ghosh, CACTUS, India
  • Matt Hodgkinson, UKRIO, UK
  • Catriona MacCallum, Hindawi, UK

Chair: Andrea Chiarelli, Research Consulting, UK 


4.15 – 4.45 pm

OASPA Equity in OA 2023 Workshops Feedback   

Malavika Legge, OASPA, UK
Introduced by Bernie Folan, OASPA, UK 


4.45 – 5 pm

Conference Closing Remarks

Jennifer Gibson, Dryad and OASPA Chair

Speaker Biographies     |     Panel Session Abstracts 


Please review the  OASPA Participant Agreement. We ask all participants to agree to participate according to these principles


2023 Conference Program Committee

  • Lucy Barnes (OpenBook Publishers)

  • Sara Bosshart (Royal Society of Chemistry)

  • Andrea Chiarelli (Research Consulting)

  • Kazuhiro Hayashi, National Institute of Science and Technology Policy (NISTEP)
  • Haseeb Md Irfanullah (Independent Consultant, Bangladesh)

  • Alex Mendonça (SciELO) 

  • Catherine Mitchell (California Digital Library)

  • Tshiamo Motshegwa (African Open Science Platform (AOSP), NRF)

  • Lucy Oates (Oxford University Press)

  • Jadranka Stojanovski (University of Zadar and Ruđer Bošković Institute)

  • Elaine Tham (PLOS)

Become a Member

  • Learn about new open scholarship developments
  • Strengthen your organisation
  • Contribute to OASPA’s direction
  • Advocate for open scholarship